ASSIGNMENTS

Music 116RWINTER 2007

 

ASSIGNED

STUDY or

WRITING DUE

 

PLAYING DUE

Course introduction (understand course materials thoroughly)

Mon., Jan. 8

Wed., Jan. 10

 

Creative Hymn Playing--Intro (Hymns 35-36) & Tenor Solo (Hymns 36-37)

Mon., Jan. 8

Wed., Jan. 17

Wed., Jan. 31

Pedal technique review (Pedal 2-5)

Mon., Jan. 8

Wed., Jan. 17

apply always!

Listening Exercise (details in booklet on organs 9-12), progress on pedal exercises, LH/pedal studies 1 and 2

Mon., Jan. 8

Wed., Jan. 31

Wed., Jan. 31

Repertoire project choices (2) and begin practice

Mon., Jan. 8

choices due Wed., Jan. 31

Wed., Mar. 14, and last day of class

Hymn projects (three: hymns # 116, #19, and #170 or as otherwise agreed upon with the instructor)

Mon., Jan. 8

 

Wed., Feb. 21, Mar. 14, & final exam day

Touch, Articulation, and Phrasing (Intro 22-24 & Hymns 52-53)

Mon., Jan. 8

Wed., Jan. 17

 

Fingering techniques review (Manual 23-44)

Wed., Jan. 17

Mon., Jan. 22

apply always!

Repeated Notes, Tying, and Accent in Hymn Playing (Hymns 3-4 and 42-50)

Mon., Jan. 22

Wed., Jan. 24

 

Instructions for the LDS Organist

(Read www.lds.org/cm/display/0,17631,4987-1,00.html

and begin Blackboard discussion group participation)

Wed., Jan. 24

read due Mon., 1/29; discussion thru Sat., 2/3

 

Listening exercise, tenor solo, progress on pedal exercises, LH/pedal studies 1 and 2, repertoire project choices

 

Wed., Jan. 31

Wed., Jan. 31

(Hymn proj. 1), LH/pedal studies 3 & 4, more progress on pedal exer.

Wed., Jan. 31

 

Wed., Feb. 21

Registration Mechanics (Regis. 16-21) (Review and understand Intro. 13-18, Hymns 20-21 & 24-25; Hymns 6-7; OT lessons "Score Prep.," "Using Console Devices," and "Hymn Regis.")

Wed., Jan. 31

Mon., Feb. 5

 

Creative Hymn Playing--Manual Only (Hymns 37-38) and

Creative Hymn Playing--Soprano Solo (Hymns 38-39)

Mon., Feb. 5

Wed., Feb. 7

Wed., Feb. 21

Literature (due: J.S. Bach)

Wed., Feb. 7

Mon., Feb. 12

 

Creative Hymn Playing--Adding Non-Harmonic Tones (Hymns 51)

Mon., Feb. 12

Wed., Feb. 14

Wed., Feb. 21

Creative Hymn Playing--Introduction and Interludes (no reading)

(Wed., Feb. 21)

 

use with a hymn proj.

Hymn project 1, manual only, soprano solo, non-harmonic tones, LH/pedal studies 3 and 4, progress on pedal exercises

 

 

Wed., Feb. 21

(Hymn project 2, repertoire project 1), LH/pedal studies 5 and 6, progress on pedal exercises

Wed., Feb. 21

 

Wed., Mar. 14

Prepare for written midterm exam

Wed., Feb. 21

Wed., Feb. 28

 

Literature Demonstration (due: Germany--Baroque)

Wed., Feb. 21

Mon., Feb. 26

 

Creative Hymn Playing--Alto Up an Octave (Hymns 39) and

Creative Hymn Playing--Soprano/Tenor Switch (Hymns 40-41)

Wed., Feb. 28

Mon., Mar. 5

Wed., Mar. 28

Following a Conductor (The hymnbook pp. 383-85)

Mon., Mar. 5

Wed., Mar. 7

 

Accompaniment adapted for organ (no reading)

(Wed., Mar. 7)

Mon., Mar. 12

 

Hymn project 2, rep. project 1, LH/pedal studies 5 and 6, progress on pedal exercises

 

 

Wed., Mar. 14

(Accomp. adapt ed for organ), LH/pedal studies 7 and 8, (alto up an octave, soprano/tenor switch), finish pedal exercises

Wed., Mar. 14

 

Wed., Mar. 28

Registration--Unification and Duplexing (no reading)

(Wed., Mar. 21)

 

 

Creative Hymn Playing--Free Accompaniments (no reading)

(Mon., Mar. 26)

 

Mon., Apr. 16

Literature Demonstration (due: France--Baroque)

Mon., Mar. 26

Wed., Mar. 28

 

Accompaniment adapted for organ, LH/pedal studies 7 and 8, alto up an octave, soprano/tenor switch, pedal exercises finished

 

 

Wed., Mar. 28

Literature Demonstration (due: Germany--19th and 20th centuries)

Wed., Mar. 28

Mon., Apr. 2

 

Literature Demonstration (due: France--19th and 20th centuries)

Mon., Apr. 2

Mon., Apr. 9

 

Repertoire project 2, recital review, free accompaniment

 

 

Mon., Apr. 16

Hymn project 3, any extra credit, and Final Exam (comprehensive)

 

Due at the beginning of the final exam--as listed in class schedule