Finding an Organ Teacher

Following is a list of reputable organ instructors who have expressed interest in being available to students for the Brigham Young University organ instruction functions listed below:

(Organ instructors interested in being included on this list–please click here)

ST

CITY

Name

Phone

Email

UT Provo Carol Dean 801-375-4873 carolorg1111@gmail.com
UT Provo Ruth Eldredge 801-210-0514 ruth.eldredge@gmail.com
UT Provo Don Cook 801-422-3260 doncook@byu.edu
UT Springville Alena Hall cell 801-870-0881 alenajune@yahoo.com
Ben Crandall bjc8@email.byu.edu
UT Springville Lella Pomeroy 801-372-5100 gpacookie@aol.com
UT Mapleton Lori Serr 801-489-8222 ljzserr@yahoo.com
UT Heber Nadine Turner 435-654-4196 gary.b.turner@att.net
UT Orem Larry Blackburn 801-404-0909 larryb84097@gmail.com
UT Orem Emily Spencer 801-369-2363 emily_spencer@byu.net
UT Alpine Debbie Allen 801-763-7804; 801-616-8289 allenisland@gmail.com
UT American Fork Parley Belnap 801-756-3490 parleybona@juno.com
UT SLC Bonnie Goodliffe 801-240-6912 bj.goodliffe@juno.com
UT SLC Kenneth Udy KennethUdy@compuserv.com
UT SLC Teresa Clawson teresa.clawson@utah.edu
SLC area teachers http://www.slcago.org/AGO_Teachers.html
UT Farmington Linda Margetts 801-451-2994 l.margetts@m.cc.utah.edu
UT Bountiful Franklin Eddings eddings@aros.net
UT Bountiful Kimberly Moody 801-292-1549 j_kmoody@yahoo.com
UT Bountiful Julie Farmer-Haltom 801-292-8415 rhaltom@relieffund.org
UT Bountiful Heidi Alley 801-292-4901 alleyheidi@hotmail.com
UT Brigham City Annette Olsen 435-723-1415 n/a 
UT Tooele Lisa Glade 435-882-7487 four_g_family@msn.com
UT Orangeville Jennifer Fauver jenniferfauver@hotmail.com
UT Saratoga Springs ShareeThompson mail.sharee@gmail.com
UT Saratoga Springs Matt Thompson
UT St. George Geoff Myers 435-634-0865 gemyers@infowest.com
CA Los Gatos Gloria Bell 408-356-8552 gloria.bell@comcast.net
CA Sunnyvale Diane Keller 408-773-8771 diane.keller@gmail.com
CA Orinda Liz Forsyth 215-262-4451 e_forsyth@yahoo.com
CT Stamford Stephen Rapp 203-323-4818 stephenrapp@snet.net
GA Atlanta James Carter 678-377-2877 eternaldishwasher@yahoo.com
ID Rexburg Nina Wilkins 208-356-6776
ID Boise David Young davidandadria@gmail.com
Haruhito Miyagi haruhito_miyagi@yahoo.com
KS Lawrence, Topeka Dan Berghout danberghout@gmail.com
KS Lawrence Elizabeth Berghout berghout.liz@gmail.com
Ks Manhattan David Pickering 785-532-3830
dpickeri@ksu.edu
MD North East Michelle Angerbauer 410-287-0687 micheleangerbauer@yahoo.com
MN Woodbury Carolyn Selden 651-739-0370 cjselden@comcast.net
MT Butte Laurie Battle 406-782-4811 lbattle@mtech.edu
NC Goldsboro Mark Gourley gourleymusician@yahoo.com
NV Las Vegas Ethelyn Peterson 702-293-5015
NV Las Vegas Jane Dye 702-876-7500 mus1c@aol.com
NY New York Stephen Best 315-732-5111 stevebest@usadatanet.net
Cindy Wells 517-694-7823 bcwells@caldwellfam.net
OH Akron Rex Roseman 330-867-5661 rosemanpiano@netzero.net
OK Stillwater Dr. Gerald Frank 405-744-8985 fgerald@okstate.edu
OR Beaverton Corina Hughes corinahughes@hotmail.com
OR Beaverton Ramona Jones corinahughes@hotmail.com
OR Beaverton Joyce Sommers sommersj@hsd.k12.or.us
OR Beaverton Julie Higgins ramonamjones@gmail.com
OR Beaverton Jim Day jimday.music@gmail.com
OR Hillsboro Rodgers Instrument Corp. 503-648-4181
OR Lincoln City Jeannine Jordan 541-905-0108
cell 503-481-2726
jeannine@promotionmusic.org
OR Portland Debbie Bush 503-690-4434
cell 503-464-6071
DebbieBush@gmail.com
WA Bellevue Chris Fresolone 425-644-0988 ext. 106 chrisf@musicworksnw.org
WA Everett Kim Croft 425-267-3388
206-624-8105 ext. 296
kimcroft@verizon.net
WA Everett Holly Brinkle 425-530-8622 organsrhot@yahoo.com
WA Marysville David Toy 425-220-5884 dktest6@yahoo.com
The American Guild of Organists (regional listings) 212-870-2163 http://www.agohq.org/regions

In addition, they are willing to help students through OrganTutor Organ 101 lessons on an as-needed basis. That is, they are willing to teach and reinforce the following aspects of organ playing that are fundamental to the OrganTutor approach: 

  • Listening skills: precise releases, perfect legato, independence of line
  • Productive practice techniques
  • Mastery of standard legato manual and pedal techniques as presented in Organ 101
  • The application of legato techniques as in hymn playing and organ literature as appropriate
  • Basic concepts and applications in classical organ registration

These organ instructors use a wide variety of teaching approaches, all of which eventually extend beyond the foundations established in Organ 101. However, they are willing to help students establish those foundations.

Contact the instructors directly to learn of their availability. Fees for lessons and played assignments should be paid directly to the instructors at their standard rate. They may also be able to provide a referral to other instructors in the region.

Dr. Don Cook

Associate professor of music (organ)

links:

doncook@byu.edu

BYU Organ Study website

BYU Independent Study organ courses

OrganTutor website

Contact Us

Please send us an email and we'll get back to you!

Not readable? Change text.